Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation Victor Dominello has congratulated the winners of the annual SafeWork NSW Awards for their commitment to reducing workplace injury rates across the State.

Nine winners across seven categories received awards from a pool of 25 finalists during a ceremony in Sydney tonight.

“The annual Awards, now in their twelfth year, recognise businesses and individuals who have improved safety and injury management outcomes through innovation, forward thinking and positive change in workplace safety,” Mr Dominello said.

“Winners were from a range of industries including construction, government, aged care, banking and retail.”

A common theme across entries was a focus on new product development and the smart use of technology to reduce risks and resolve safety issues.

The awards also highlighted the impact a workplace injury has on individual and colleagues and the importance of innovative return to work initiatives.

During 2014-15 in NSW there were more than 90,000 injuries costing the NSW Workers Compensation Scheme more than $680 million.

Since these Awards have been running, NSW has seen a decline in reported work-related fatalities of 50 per cent. 

“Every business that submitted an entry in these Awards is an ambassador for workplace safety and return-to-work among their industry peers and I commend all of them for their commitment to reducing injuries and saving lives,” Mr Dominello said.

Visit for more information about the Awards and winning initiatives.

Download a PDF of this media release.


Best workplace health and safety management system

Crown Equipment Pty Ltd (private sector)

Port Stephens Council (public sector)

Best solution to an identified workplace health and safety issue

Roads and Maritime Services/University of Technology 

Best workplace health and safety practices in a small business

Mavid Construction Pty Ltd

Best individual contribution to workplace health and safety

Andrew Ryan – Patrick (no formal WHS responsibilities)

Annette Celle – Bankstown City Council (WHS manager)

Excellence in return to work for business

The Westpac Group

Return to work achievement award for workers

Jennifer Saben – UnitingCare Ageing NSW ACT

SafeWork NSW Safety Leadership Award

Craig Murray – Sydney Fish Market

Back to top