SafeWork NSW is calling on the State’s safest and most innovative businesses to enter the 2017 SafeWork Awards.

The SafeWork Awards recognise businesses and individuals who have improved safety and injury management in their workplace through innovation, forward thinking and positive change.

SafeWork NSW Executive Director, Peter Dunphy, encouraged all businesses with a commitment to safety to apply for the Awards.

“The Awards are an opportunity for businesses with a safety culture and commitment to protecting the health and safety of their workforce to showcase their achievements,” Mr Dunphy said.

“But workplace safety is everyone’s responsibility and with awards across six categories, it’s a chance for both individuals and businesses to demonstrate how they have reduced injuries and improved safety in their workplace.

“Whether you are an employer or a worker, and regardless of your industry, occupation or background, if you have created a safety culture in your workplace, I urge you to enter the awards.”

Entries are open to any business, individual or not-for-profit organisation operating in NSW and awards are available in six categories:

  • Excellence in workplace health and safety culture (small or large business)
  • Best solution to an identified workplace health and safety issue (small or large business)
  • Best individual contribution to workplace safety
  • Excellence in recovery at work for business
  • Recovery at work achievement award for injured workers
  • SafeWork NSW leadership in safety

Entries close Friday, 21 July 2017 with winners announced at a black tie ceremony and dinner on 26 October at Doltone House, Hyde Park.

Mr Dunphy said entries could be lodged anywhere, anytime on any device via the SafeWork Awards website.

“The website contains information on the entry process, award categories and prizes, so go online today and see for yourself how easy it is to enter,” he said.

“Like Illawarra business, Bohmer’s Tree Care, the winners of the Excellence in workplace health and safety culture award last year, you might become a safety ambassador not just for your industry, but for all businesses in NSW.”

For further information on the SafeWork Awards, visit, email or phone 02 4321 4444. News grabs of Acting Deputy Director of SafeWork NSW, Jodie Deakes, 2016 SafeWork Award winners Kerry Dent from Cabonne Shire Council and CEO of Bracton Industries, Michael Hunter can be viewed here:

Back to top