Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation Victor Dominello today announced the finalists in SafeWork NSW’s annual work health and safety awards.

The Awards are a long-standing program, and this year attracted the highest number of entries since it began in 2004, with 25 finalists selected from more than 200 entries submitted by businesses and individuals across the State.

“I’m thrilled with the opportunity to reward outstanding performance in workplace safety in NSW. Finalists hail from a range of industries and include a number of new safety innovations,” Mr Dominello said.

A common theme among this year’s entries was a focus on the development of new products and the clever use of technology.

Examples include:

  • Design of an engineering tool to reduce the risk of muscoskeletal disorders.
  • Development of a robotic bridge inspector to safely identify mechanical and structural issues without putting staff in danger.

Many entrants have demonstrated how online portals can be used for things such as risk assessment tools to be accessed on mobile devices away from the workplace.

"These Awards highlight how innovation and forward thinking have contributed to improving safety and injury management outcomes across multiple industries in this State,” Mr Dominello said.

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Wednesday 28 October in Sydney.

Visit for more information

2015 SafeWork Awards Finalists

Best workplace health and safety management system (private sector)

  • Crown Equipment (Smithfield)
  • Hansen Yuncken (Newcastle)
  • Mirvac (Glenfield)

Best workplace health and safety management system (public sector / not for profit)

  • NSW Public Works (Sydney)
  • National Electrical and Communications Association (Burwood)
  • Port Stephens Council (Raymond Terrace)

Best solution to an identified workplace health and safety issue

  • Lindsay Transport, Driver multi-tool (Coffs Harbour)
  • Roads and Maritime Services, Robotic Bridge Inspector (Parramatta)
  • Asciano Limited, Ryan Key (North Sydney)

Best workplace health and safety practices in a small business

  • Mavid Construction (Newcastle)
  • Downey Group Services (Arncliffe)

Best individual contribution to workplace health and safety (non WHS representative)

  • Appleseed Engineering / John Giles (Pymble)
  • Coca Cola Amatil / Suzanne Sheppard (Northmead)
  • Asciano Limited / Andrew Ryan (North Sydney)

Best individual contribution to workplace health and safety (WHS representative)

  • Bankstown City Council / Annette Celle (Bankstown)
  • OneSteel NSW / Michael Denson (Rooty Hill)
  • Lend Lease Communities Australia / Rashed Panabig (Parramatta)

Excellence in return to work for business

  • University of Sydney (Glebe)
  • Lend Lease Management Services (Millers Point/Barangaroo)
  • Westpac Banking Corporation (Sydney)

Return to work achievement award for workers

  • Detective Sergeant Matthew O’Neill - NSW Police Force (Parramatta)
  • Jennifer Saben Uniting Care NSW ACT (Chatswood)

SafeWork NSW Safety leadership award

  • NSW Glass and Glazing Association (Wollongong
  • Sydney Fish Markets – Craig Murray (Pyrmont)
  • Joss Group (Albury)
Back to top